Index to the Parishes in the County of Oxford & Original Diocese of Oxford with lists of incumbents of each from the foundation of the See in 1542 so far as they are recorded in the Diocesan Register.

British History online

C. of E. Database



C = by cession }

D = by death } Indicates vacation of benefice.

R = by resignation }

Date following name is the date of Institution (or in a few cases Induction}

Except when this abbreviation is given the name which follows is not necessarily that of the immediate successor.



1222 Ralph (formerly official of the Archdeacon of Oxford

1231 John de Crakhall (Crakehall)

1261 Walter de Cotes

1290 Robert Trevet (deacon)

1309 Richard de Ellesfield (acolyte)

1316-49 Richard de Gardinis

1349 Thomas Bassat (or Normanton) (D)

1349 Robert de Apultr (acolyte) (D)

1361 William de Merston

1377-92 William de Gardinis

1392 Robert de Wermingham

1397- ? Master Nicholas Hereford

1398 Richard Clyfford

1401-18 Robert Marying

1418- ? Richard Compton

1418-52 John Aston (R)

1452-? William Bragges

14 ? John Rowse (D)

1479 John Wright (R)

1496 Thomas Humberstone

1498 Robert Sandyforth? (R)

Roger Southforth?

1504 Robert Birche (D)

15? - ? Robert Nelson

1537-52 Robert King

1552 Thomas Gardyner (C)

15 ?-58 Edmund Garret/Garsett (D)

1558-59 John Mitchell

1583-85 Richard Harrys (C)

1615-33 William Juxon LLB (C)

1633- ? Thomas Walker DD (C)

1647-60 Gap in Church Registers

1660- ? Miles Sandys

1664-? Henry Walker

1665-1709 Samuel Jemmatt

1713-19 Edmund Marten/Martin LLB (R)

1719-22/4 John Cobb LLD (D)

1724-28 George Fletcher MA (R)

1728-69 John Watson (D)From 1769-1850 the Parish was considered too small & poor to support a resident Priest.

1769-1804 Barfoot Cotton MA (D)

1804-31 Henry Wintle (C)

1831-61 Robert Cox Clifton (D)

1861-75 William Henry Price (C)

1875-1923 George Edward Barnes (D)

1923-39 G. L. Merchant (R)

1939-49 T.V. Ruddock

1949-57 W.P. Hares

1957-59 T.W. Moyle

1959- 81 Clifford C. Rhodes (R)

1982-93 Ven. John Hewitt Wilson (R) [chaplain to the RAF]

1993-2002 Noel James



Parish Registers of Rectors, Curates & Church Officers.

Names appear in Registers with the first date of mention & the year of burial if local. This shows that from 1767-1813 the parish was served by a succession of short-stay curates during the incumbency of the ‘ever absent’ Barfoot Cotton.



1627 John Creek [subs. as curate]

1631 Robert Kendricke

1638 James Willmer [died 1641]

1650 Edward Archer

165? John Fenwick

1672 ? Slatter

1683 William Chapman [buried 1685]

1685 Samuel Lowe [Rector of Hardwick in 1709?]

1689 Richard Keyt

1691 Samuel Lowe [subs. as curate]

1709 Henry Tipping

1718 George Roberts

1720 Thomas Swallow

1767 John Russell

1770 William Harrison

1771 Thomas Brown

1781 Edward Turner

1787 John Horseman

1788 J. Hind

1792 Dorminy Rasbotham

1794 Robert Kening

1801 George Webb MA

1809 W.H. Clerke

1810 Robert Dickenson

1813/5 William Nicholson

1827 Henry Wintle Junior [buried 1830]

1836-40 John Jordan

1840 Edward Marshall

1846-50 Charles Reed Clifton BA

? T. Morgan

? W. Johnson

1853 Oswald Pattinson Sergeant BA

1857-61 John Aldworth



{1} In 1707 Samuel Lowe’s fees were :-

for burying a corpse 1/-

for publishing banns of marriage 1/-

Every inhabitant in the parish of age to communicate 2d to be paid at Easter called ‘offerings’.

{2} In 1817 Henry Wintle recorded difficulty in obtaining payment of 1 guinea for ‘opening the ground’ of the Fermor vault in addition to his fee of 1 guinea. This was eventually paid byu the family’s steward.

{3} In 1828 the extra guinea fee was paid without demur for another Fermor interment.

{4} The executors of the late T.T. Ramsay paid ?2.10.0d to the Rector to open the vault and a surplice (sic) fee of 6/8d to the curate.




Copyright © Somerton History Project 2010  All images and text on this site are strictly under copyright. | No unauthorised reproduction